Springfield Clinical Campus Recognizes Volunteer Faculty

The University of Missouri School of Medicine honored doctors in the Springfield area on March 21. They volunteered their time to mentor and teach a 28 MU medical student who moves to Springfield each June to begin her third year of medical school.

The MU School of Medicine Springfield Clinical Campus Faculty Appreciation Dinner provided an opportunity for administrators and students to thank the volunteer faculty for their time and dedication to training the next generation of physicians.

Richard J. Barron, M.D.
Richard J. Barron, M.D.

Under the guidance of 14 Associate Clerkship Directors from Mercy Health and Cox Health, medical students rotate through a core area of ​​medicine in their third year and electives in their fourth and final years. More than 400 Mercy and Cox physicians serve on the Springfield Clinical Campus faculty.

“Today, 78 students have graduated and are progressing into residency training. said Hugh E. and Sara D. Stevenson, Ph.D., Vice President for Health Affairs and Chair of the School of Medicine. “Our students greatly value their time with Cox and Mercy’s doctors.”

David Housstein, MD, MBA
David Housstein, MD, MBA

In addition to thanking the volunteer faculty, the students presented several Cox and Mercy physicians with “Preceptor of the Year” awards. Her Angela Whitesell, MD, family physician at Mercy Health, was named the 2023 Springfield Clinical Campus Lecturer of the Year.

“We are very grateful for the support and partnership,” said David Haustein, MD, Associate Dean of Springfield Clinical Campus. “Our Springfield Clinical Campus continues to thrive thanks to this truly unique and special collaboration between the private healthcare system and the academic medical center.”

Closing the awards banquet, Mr. Housstein also recognized staff members of the MU School of Medicine who work tirelessly behind the scenes to create exceptional learning experiences for their students.

view gallery

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *