Quillen College of Medicine 70 alumni

The Quillen School of Medicine at East Tennessee State University celebrated its graduation ceremony on Friday when 70 students were awarded doctoral degrees in medicine.

This summer, the Class of 2023 will be distributed across 20 states and the District of Columbia residency. The Class of 2023 matched 15 different specialties and enjoyed a 100% match rate for the second year in a row.

“Many members of the Class of 2023 will be scattered across the country to complete their residency training, but we are confident that wherever they ultimately end up, they will represent Quillen,” said the School of Medicine. “Today is a special day for our graduates and their families, and we are excited to see what the future holds for them.”

Dr. Ryan Stanton, a member of the class of 2003 who was named one of the University’s Distinguished Alumni in 2022, was a guest speaker.

Stanton attended the University of Kentucky Emergency Medicine Residency and graduated in 2008. He holds certification in Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medical Services. He currently works with the Central Emergency Physician in the Lexington, Kentucky Regional Emergency Department and serves as Medical Director for Lexington Fire/EMS and GMR Motorsports, which includes NASCAR, IMSA, SRX, and USF.

One of the members of Quillen’s Class of 2023, Jared MillardThe ETSU 1911 Society has produced the university’s most distinguished alumni, who embody ETSU’s original mission to improve the quality of life for the people of this region, as demonstrated by academic excellence, service, and leadership. It’s something to honor.

Millard, who is completing a residency in emergency medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, said: Incredibly kind and humble people who not only care for their patients and learn from doctors who are experts in their field, but who also have a genuine passion for caring for their neighbors, are the doctors we aspire to be throughout our careers. laid the foundation for the ability of ”

Killen Medical School also presented several student awards during the ceremony. Among them:

Ryan King He was awarded Dean’s Distinguished Student Honor Award for demonstrating excellent clinical skills and potential to become an excellent physician.

Awarded the Leonard Toe Humanism Award mirroredSponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, this award is presented to peer-judged students who have consistently demonstrated compassion and empathy in the delivery of care to their patients. Demonstrate professional behavior by example. Demonstrate cultural sensitivity when working with patients, families, and colleagues. Adhere to professional and ethical standards. Pay attention and be sensitive to the patient’s psychological well-being. Show interest in the general welfare of the community.

Other award winners are:

  • Evan BairdDr. Clay Leister Award
  • Rebecca BlairGlasgow Rubin work citation
  • Haley Nicole BradshawCheryl L. McLemore MD Memorial Pediatric Award
  • morgan gay burnhamTennessee Academy of Family Physicians Scholarship Award
  • Stephen Alexander CrockettDillard M. Scholes Award
  • Jennifer Lynn DavisRonald S. McCord MD Rural Family Medicine Award and H. Cowan Moss Family Medicine Award
  • Sarah Ashley FerroniHumera B. Chaudhary Memorial Award
  • Isabelle Goudet and Cary HankinsAnn Tranum Hawkins Award for Excellence in Women’s Health
  • Devin Hope HayesPediatric Award
  • Haddon Claude HillPhilip John Hinton MD Career in Surgery Award
  • Christina Bailey CrudaOutstanding Achievement Junior Surgery Clerkship Award
  • Rebecca Black LeechJames Christopher Corbyn Psychiatry Award
  • Hannah Grace Gersch LoboKevin Swabe Memorial Award
  • William MillerExcellent Emergency Medicine Award
  • Westley Alan Ontenkointernal medicine category
  • Riley Reagan ParrDr. Jay and Mina Mehta Family Award in Preventive Medicine
  • Christopher Pierce and Andrew WigerMerck & Co. Award

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *