Nominations for the 11th Annual International Harrington Awards are now open.

Harrington Discovery Institute and American Society for Clinical Investigation Seek Nominations to Recognize Outstanding Achievement by Medical Scientists

cleveland, May 9, 2023 /PRNewswire/ — National and international nominations sought 2024 Harrington Medical Innovation Awardshonors medical scientists who have advanced science with notable achievements in innovation, creativity and potential for clinical application.

The Harrington Award $20,000 The honorarium is a collaboration with the University Hospital’s Harrington Discovery Institute Cleveland, Ohio The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) is one of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies. The Harrington Discovery Institute is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting physician-scientists in advancing the promising discovery of medicines that address unmet needs.

Both organizations recognize the challenges associated with translating scientific discoveries into medicines and want to highlight those who have successfully navigated that path or whose work has led to new treatments. increase.

A panel of members from the Harrington Discovery Institute’s Scientific Advisory Board and the ASCI Council will review the nominations and select the winners. In addition to the honorarium, the 2024 recipient will give a Harrington Prize Lecture at his 2024 Joint Conference of the American Medical Association (AAP), ASCI, and the American Association of Physicians and Scientists (APSA). I will be speaking at the 2024 Harrington Discovery Institute Symposium. Post a personal essay on Clinical Investigative Journal.

Submitting nominations:

  • Candidates must hold an MD or MD/PhD (or equivalent).
  • The deadline for nominations is September 18, 2023.
  • We welcome multiple nominations from institutions.
  • Teams accept nominations, but must have a primary nominee.
  • Nomination guidelines are available at

Harrington Prize Winners (2014 – 2023):

  • 2023: Joint award Jean BennettMD, PhD, and Albert M. MaguireMDboth at Perelman College of Medicine University of Pennsylvaniafor groundbreaking translational research restoring sight in genetic disorders.
  • 2022: Joint award James E. Crow Jr.MD, Vanderbilt University, and Michelle C. NussenzweigMD, PhD, Rockefeller University, For groundbreaking research in immunology that elucidated the basic principles of the human immune response and enabled the use of human antibodies to treat COVID-19.
  • 2021: Joint award Warren J. LeonardMD, NHLBI, and John J. O’SheaMD, NIAMS, NIHfor their respective contributions to the field of immunology, from fundamental discoveries to therapeutic implications.
  • 2020: Stuart H. OrkinMD, Harvard Universityfor breakthrough discoveries about red blood cells that offer new treatments for patients with sickle cell disease and beta-thalassemia, one of the most common genetic disorders.
  • 2019: Carl H. JuneMD, University of Pennsylvaniafor his continuing contributions to the field of cellular immunology, advancing the clinical application of CAR T therapy for cancer therapy.
  • 2018: Helen H. HobbesMD, UT Southwestern Medical Centerfor the discovery of an association between a genetic mutation (PCSK9) and low levels of LDL that improved treatment of high cholesterol.
  • 2017: Joint award Daniel J. DruckerMD, Mount Sinai Hospital, Canada, Joel F. HavenerMD, Massachusetts general Hospital, and Jens J. HorstMD, DMSc, University of CopenhagenDenmarkfor discovering incretin hormones and translating these discoveries into innovative treatments for major metabolic diseases such as diabetes.
  • 2016: Jeffrey M. FriedmanMD, PhD, Rockefeller Universityfor the discovery of leptin, which controls feeding behavior and is used to treat related clinical disorders.
  • 2015: Douglas R. LoewyMD, National Cancer Institutewas acknowledged for his discoveries that led to the development of a human papillomavirus vaccine to prevent cervical cancer.
  • 2014: Harry DietzMD, Johns Hopkins Universityfor their contributions to understanding the biology and treatment of Marfan syndrome, a disorder that leads to fatal aneurysms in children and adults.

For questions or more information regarding nomination requirements, please visit or contact us. Bronwyn MonroeProgram Director, Harrington Discovery Institute, [email protected].

Source Harrington Discovery Institute

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *