Attorney General Calls on Congress to Pass Right-to-Repair Law

Right-to-repair bills have been introduced in at least 11 states so far this year, but following previous bills passed by state legislatures, the state Senate passed an amendment focused on agricultural machinery on March 16. We look to Colorado for passing legislation. Starting next year, the bill would require agricultural machinery manufacturers to sell equipment, diagnostic tools and manuals to farmers and independent repair shops.

The American Farm Bureau Federation chose a different strategy and announced memoranda of understanding with both John Deere and CNH Industrial (Case IH and New Holland). These agreements give farmers and independent technicians access to software and manuals through subscriptions or purchases. In exchange for the agreements with these manufacturers, the AFBF has also agreed not to lobby for right-to-repair legislation and will not lobby state affiliates for such legislation. We encourage you not to do so.

In a letter to Congress, the Attorney General said: Repair Monopoly. ”

The AG also noted that the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has issued a report on the various ways manufacturers are limiting competition in repairs.

In the last Congress, several bills were introduced for the right to repair. So far, few bills have been introduced, but one bipartisan bill is HR 906, Repair Act. In the letter, AG notes that a national survey of farmers by the National Farmers Union and the group US PIRG found that 95% of farmers support the right to repair their own farm machinery. Other research shows that about 75% of consumers favor having independent repair shops access diagnostic tools and equipment to perform repairs.

Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raul (Democrat) and Indiana Attorney General Todd Rokita (Republican) led the letter. Other participating state and territory AGs include Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, North Includes the Mariana Islands. , Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin.

The AG’s letter was sent to the chairs and key members of the House Energy and Commerce Committee and the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee.

Also see “AFBF Wins Right to Repair Case IH, New Holland Equipment”:….

Chris Clayton can be reached at

Follow him on Twitter @ChrisClaytonDTN

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *